What is Sales to Operating Profit?
The Sales to Operating Profit ratio calculates the amount of revenue necessary to generate a dollar in operating income (EBIT).
The Sales to Operating Profit ratio calculates the amount of revenue necessary to generate a dollar in operating income (EBIT).

The sales to operating profit ratio compares a company’s net sales to its operating profit.
Simply put, the sales to operating profit ratio is the approximate amount of revenue that a company must produce in order to generate a dollar in operating profit.
The metric is primarily used to set internal revenue targets so that the company can improve its operating profitability.
The formula for calculating the sales to operating profit ratio is as follows.
Sales to Operating Profit Formula
- Sales to Operating Profit = Net Sales ÷ Operating Profit
The inputs can be calculated using the following equations.
By flipping the formula around, we’re left with the operating margin metric.
Operating Margin Formula
- Operating Margin = Operating Profit ÷ Net Sales
The operating margin shows how much of one dollar of revenue generated by a company flows down to the operating income (EBIT) line item.
We’ll now move to a modeling exercise, which you can access by filling out the form below.
Suppose a company generated $50 million in gross sales in 2021, but there was a total of $10 million in deductions related to returns, discounts, and sales allowances.
Further, the company incurred $20 million in COGS and $10 million in SG&A.
Given those assumptions, our company’s gross profit is $20 million while its operating profit is $10 million.
| Financials | 2021A |
|---|---|
| Gross Sales | $50 million |
| Less: Returns | ($5 million) |
| Less: Discounts | ($3 million) |
| Less: Sales Allowances | ($2 million) |
| Net Sales | $40 million |
| Less: COGS | (20 million) |
| Gross Profit | $20 million |
| Less: SG&A | (10 million) |
| Operating Profit | $10 million |
By dividing the $10 million in operating profit by the $40 million in net sales, the operating margin comes out to 25%.
In the final part of our exercise, we’ll calculate our company’s sales to operating profit ratio using the formula below, which results in a ratio of 4.0x.
The 4.0x sales to operating profit ratio means that the company must generate $4.00 in revenue for its operating profit to be $1.00.


Enroll in The Premium Package: Learn Financial Statement Modeling, DCF, M&A, LBO and Comps. The same training program used at top investment banks.
No comments yet.